In the "Keeping Them Honest" segment of his CNN show, Anderson Cooper shines a spotlight on people in the media who have issues presenting factual statements. In a segment this week, he called out Rep. Michele Bachmann for comments she made about spending in the Obama administration in her speech at the recent CPAC. Rep. Michele Bachmann's retreat from Dana Bash's questions is one of the funniest I've seen in awhile. Although funny on the surface, it does point out a serious problem... Bachmann's detachment from the facts and how she reacts when confronted with tough questions. I think Dana may want to invest in some Nikes for any future encounters she has with Rep. Bachmann.
Left-leaning perspectives on a variety of social, political, and pop culture topics.
Quotable Quote of the Month
What does it take for Republicans to take off the flag pin and say, 'I am just too embarrassed to be on this team'?".- Bill Maher
Showing posts with label Michele Bachmann. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Michele Bachmann. Show all posts
Thursday, March 21, 2013
Michele Bachmann Runs From the Truth
In the "Keeping Them Honest" segment of his CNN show, Anderson Cooper shines a spotlight on people in the media who have issues presenting factual statements. In a segment this week, he called out Rep. Michele Bachmann for comments she made about spending in the Obama administration in her speech at the recent CPAC. Rep. Michele Bachmann's retreat from Dana Bash's questions is one of the funniest I've seen in awhile. Although funny on the surface, it does point out a serious problem... Bachmann's detachment from the facts and how she reacts when confronted with tough questions. I think Dana may want to invest in some Nikes for any future encounters she has with Rep. Bachmann.
Saturday, January 19, 2013
A Tale of Two Michel(l)es
During her husband's race for the White House in 2008, soon-to-be First Lady Michelle Obama made a controversial comment about her being proud of her country for the first time in her adult life. In the 2011 clip below, Melissa Harris-Perry discusses how the media portrayed Ms. Obama's comments vs. similar ones made by Republican congresswoman Michele Bachmann. You may be wondering why I'm posting about a topic that should be dead and buried. The reason is because while most people have either forgiven or forgotten about Michelle's statements, people on the right like my good friend "dmarks" can't let it go.
Here's my question for the righties who continue to trash Michelle Obama for this: How is what she said any different from the comments made by Congresswoman Bachmann?
By the way, happy belated 49th birthday to Ms. Obama (who is rocking the bangs quite nicely).
Thursday, March 31, 2011
Does This Cain Really Believe He Is Able?
Herman, Herman, Herman ... Why did you have to go here?
The video above shows that the man is in love with himself and delusional.
It seems that some of our friends to the right of the political middle feel as if they m
ay have found their great black hope, and his name is Herman Cain. Frankly, I've largely tried to give this man Cain the benefit of the doubt as he has shoehorned his way into the media spotlight largely through his willingness to takes shots at President Barack Obama. In all honesty, one good way to find a place in the media spotlight is as a black politician or pundit who is willing to verbally attack President Obama (Lloyd Marcus, Jesse Lee Peterson, Michael Steele, etc.).This all brings me to some comments that Cain made at a tea party (yes, there was at least one black man at a tea party) event in Florida.
Here is what Cain had to say:
"The liberal mainstream media, notice how they have tried to destroy Sarah Palin. Notice how the more popular Michele Bachmann gets, the more they try to destroy her. You want to know why they go after those two ladies more viciously? Because they know that Michele Bachmann or Sarah Palin is going to draw a lot of the women vote away from the Democrat Party."Bachmann and Palin have done (and continue to do) more to destroy themselves then the so-called mainstream media could ever do. I am not a woman, but I have a hard time seeing many independent or left-wing women gravitating to Bachmann or Palin ... just saying.
But, that is just the beginning of what Cain had to say. It is interesting to see how far we've come in society when some people are seeking out a great black hope.
More from Cain:
"They are scared to death of that, if they were to run and get the nomination. They are doubly scared that a real black man might run against Barack Obama."Is he, of all people, trying to say Barack Obama is not a real black man? Negro, please.
Does Cain really think he is that real black man? As they say on ESPN, "Come on, man."
Real Clear Politics:
http://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2011/03/31/herman_cain_media_scared_that_a_real_black_man_may_run_against_obama.html
UPDATE: "Cain spokeswoman Ellen Carmichael told POLITICO that Cain's race remarks had nothing to do with him challenging Obama's racial origin. "'He was referring to himself in the first person,'" she said. "'He was saying that there could be a general election with two black men.'"
Wednesday, January 26, 2011
The History of Slavery in the U.S., Courtesy of Michele Bachmann
During a recent speech she gave in Iowa, Congresswoman Michele Bachmann (R-MN) attempted to rewrite American history by proclaiming that our founding fathers ended slavery. Minnesota Tea Partyer who wants to be President of the U.S. but never will be say what?! Come on man! You can find a 3rd grader who's failing history and they'd know that the founding fathers didn't end slavery! The antics of people like Michele Bachmann are just one reason why I and many others are leery of Republicans/the Tea Party movement. Not to mention the fact that they put up with the antics of the Michele Bachmann's of the world.
Below is a segment from the January 25th edition of Hardball with Chris Matthews, with Tea Party Express founder Sal Russo and Salon.com managing editor Joan Walsh. The segment contains footage of Michele's controversial/non-factual comments about slavery. Just watch how Russo squirms when Chris grills him on Michele's comments about slavery and slavery in general. As a fan of Chris Matthews' pressing style of interviewing, this was an instant classic for me. It's right up there with the time when he destroyed Michelle Malkin or when he tore talk show host Kevin James a new one.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


