Quotable Quote of the Month

What does it take for Republicans to take off the flag pin and say, 'I am just too embarrassed to be on this team'?".- Bill Maher

Showing posts with label Ed Schultz. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ed Schultz. Show all posts

Friday, January 13, 2012

Ed Schultz Has A Message for Some of the Liberals


Leading up to the Iowa caucus, Ed Schultz praised GOP candidate Rick Santorum's presence on the campaign trail. This led to Ed getting angry tweets from disappointed viewers. In a video for his blog, Ed responded.

The first clip is the one that got some of the liberals upset. The second one is Ed's response.



Ed is absolutely right! Just because he had kind words for Rick Santorum doesn't mean he's making the jump to Fox News. Ed's commentary on Santorum was objective and that's one of the main traits I look for when listening to a political pundit. People on the right such as Joe Scarborough and Bill O'Reilly face the same type of derision from viewers when they have the audacity to praise someone on the other side of the political aisle and/or criticize one of their own. If these people have such a need to be told what they wanna hear, they should go talk to a mirror.

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Rick Santorum: Blah, Blah, Blah


Last week in Iowa, GOP presidential candidate Rick Santorum generated controversy with comments he allegedly made in regards to black people and welfare. In the aftermath, he at first didn't deny he made the comment. However, he later did a 180 by saying he never made the statement.

Hmm... although it's not a clearly enunciated "black", I think that's what he said or at least planned on saying. It could be that the word came out somewhat jumbled because he realized it wasn't a smart thing to say. At least one person in the audience thinks Santorum was referring to blacks as well because you can hear them utter "right" shortly thereafter.

What do you think Rick Santorum said? If you don't think he said or intended to say "black", can you explain the definition of a "blah" person?

In the clip below, Ed Schultz discusses Santorum's alleged comments with Joan Walsh and Michael Eric Dyson:



Sunday, August 21, 2011

Ed Schultz and the Case of the Big Black Cloud

On Monday during his MSNBC show, Ed Schultz used a Rick Perry clip out of context. In doing so, Schultz took a comment made by Perry and portrayed it as a racial slam against President Obama. The out of context clip and Schults's commentary occur in the first 2 minutes of the clip:




The following day, Schultz apologized for the error (at approx. the 2:15 mark):



Clearly, airing the selectively edited Rick Perry clip was a bush league move on the part of Ed Schultz. Rick Perry has some pretty extreme views in the eyes of many, so there's no need to distort his words. Just play the clips in their entirety and let the people decide. Having said that, I'll give credit to Ed Schultz for his apology. We need to see more of that by the media when they commit acts of dishonesty.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Guest Post: Neal Boortz Calls for Vigilantism

Recently, I contacted Mary (whose blog is titled Mary's World) and asked if she was interested in writing a guest post. She offered up the following about comments Neal Boortz recently made on his radio show:

Why is Neal Boortz Still Broadcasting on American Airwaves?



BOORTZ: You know what? I, for one, am tired of putting up with this crap. And you want to know why I moved out of Atlanta and only spend a couple of weeks a year in this town? That's one of the reasons. Carjackings, violence, people getting shot. It's ridiculous. This city harbors an urban culture of violence. And I want you to look around. You drive into the city. The railroad overpass is on the downtown connector covered with graffiti. And that-- That is just an advertisement for everybody coming into this town that we really don't give a damn about those who would screw up our quality of life around here. We really just don't care. We don't care enough to paint over graffiti on the overpasses that come into our city, advertising welcome to Atlanta, here's some of our finest graffiti, from some of our finest urban thugs and their little gang signs. And pick up the paper tomorrow morning. Read about all the carjackings. Read about the innocent people shot for the pure de-hell of it.
This town is starting to look like a garbage heap. And we got too damn many urban thugs, yo, ruining the quality of life for everybody. And I'll tell you what it's gonna take. You people, you are - you need to have a gun. You need to have training. You need to know how to use that gun. You need to get a permit to carry that gun. And you do in fact need to carry that gun and we need to see some dead thugs littering the landscape in Atlanta. We need to see the next guy that tries to carjack you shot dead right where he stands. We need more dead thugs in this city. And let their -- let their mommas -- let their mommas say, "He was a good boy. He just fell in with the good crowd." And then lock her ass up.
Media Matters

Neal Boortz has called for killing!  He claims it is self defense, but he has taken law enforcement, the court system and the rule of law totally out of the picture.

He has put out a call for all his listeners, you know them, the 'good citizens of Atlanta' to pick up arms!  Go get "trained" people, before you head out to do some "urban thug" hunting.  Don't forget your permit, while you drive down that Atlanta street, sweaty palmed, just waiting for that "urban thug, Yo".  Every stop light is a potential killing ground.  If one of those "urban thugs" come near your precious car, the car you work every day to pay for, the car that is the life blood of your family, when that "urban thug" comes to take your car away, you will be ready to shoot him dead "right where he stands!"  That car of yours is far more important than any "urban thug's" life, "yo."...but why wait until they get to your car, like the Bush doctrine taught us (get them before they get you) and "see some dead thugs littering the landscape" in the ATL!

I know I went a little overboard here, but seriously, why is this guy still on the air?  I heard today that he is a lawyer so we can assume that he isn't a total idiot, but from a simple Google search he does have a history of being a racist.  Why is this guy who put out a call for citizens to pick up arms and become vigilantes still on the radio?  Have we become so desensitized by the "Right Wing Shock Jocks" of the world that this man's rhetoric is no longer shocking?  I found it extremely disturbing and so does Ed Schultz and Joe Madison.  Joe said on Ed's show this morning,  "I think that skin heads are thugs, does that mean I can go out and shoot them too?" Could you imagine the outrage if "The Black Eagle" Joe Madison went on his show and said what Boortz did, only about skin heads?  Both of these guys have called out Boortz on their radio shows and Ed has done so on his MSNBC show, but the big 4 networks have said nothing.  I do remember a story about 3 New Black Panther members standing outside a predominantly Democratic polling place in Philly in 2008, on not just the nightly network news but my local news here in Wisconsin, but not a peep about this "more dead thugs in this city guy".  I don't want this to just fade into another news cycle and neither does Joe Madison.  He is telling his listeners to call the people responsible for putting this man on the air: Cox Communications/Cox Media Group.  Several of his callers tried to call Cox directly, but they transferred them over to the Neal Boortz show producers.  Cox put out a statement saying they were sorry for anyone who was offended, and providing links to Boortz's show.

One of the Mom things that I used to tell my little "urban thugs" before they went out to play with a ball or bat was, "That is your responsibility, if something gets broken because of your ball or bat, you are to blame, even if you weren't holding it at the time.  You make the choice to take it outside or not." Knowing full well that if something got broken, my child would be the only one left stand there anyway, because the rest of the kids (non-urban thugs) would scatter.  And things did get broken, and my kids did take responsibility and were often rewarded with not having to pay for the window.  This is how Cox should be treated.  You have to take responsibility for what you put on your air!

Cox Enterprises: http://www.cox.com
Corporate Headquarters:
Cox Media Group
6205 Peachtree Dunwoody Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30328


Phone: (678) 645-0000
Fax: (678) 645-5002
Links to the Radio:  http://www.wsbradio.com/contact-us/
WSB-AM
1601 West Peachtree Street
Atlanta, GA 30309
Phone: (404) 897-7500
Fax: (404) 897-7363

You can't scream "fire" in a crowded theater and you can't call for the landscape of Atlanta to be littered with the bodies of dead "urban thugs, Yo!"