Whileon a campaign stop in Commerce Twp, MI last Friday, Mitt Romney made a so-called joke about President Obama's place of birth. Stay classy Willard!
In the first clip, Hardball's Chris Matthews takes RNC chairman Reince Priebus apart during a segment on Morning Joe. In addition to confronting Reince on Romney's birther "joke", Chris also called him out for the Romney ad which falsely claims President Obama ended the work requirement for welfare. Since I cannot stand Priebus, it was a pleasure watching Chris gut him on live TV.
In the second clip, Alex Wagner (the host of MSNBC's NOW with Alex Wagner) took her turn addressing Romney's alleged attempt at humor. As one of the most congenial political pundits on TV, Alex usually keeps her anger in check. However, you could see she was pissed about what Romney said. Still, she handled it with her customary class and intelligence.
Ever since President Obama was sworn in, some on the right have been directing race-based jabs at him (both overt and covert). And every time they do, it's the job of the media to call them on it. Props to both Chris and Alex!
In the aftermath of the sexual harassment allegations against Herman Cain, the group Americans for Herman Cain released the following ad:
The only way this ad makes any sense is if you know zilch about U.S. news/politics of the last 25 years.
1. Blaming Herman Cain's problems on the left is baseless because we don't know who gave the story to Politico. Cain himself can't seem to make up his mind on who he wants to blame for the sexual harassment allegations coming to light. So far, he's pointed his finger at the left, the Rick Perry campaign and the media. Next, he'll be blaming the rain or the boogie!
2 .As for Politico breaking the story and the "so-called" mainstream media covering it, what were they supposed to do?! I hate to break it to Cain and his supporters, but the fact that he is running for president makes these sexual harassment allegations a news story. If you think it's only black conservatives who get media coverage when scandal touches their political career, tell that to Bill Clinton, Eliot Spitzer, John Edwards, Anthony Weiner and a host of others.
3. The "left hates black conservatives" talking point used by some on the right is a classic case of a straw man argument. I hear people on the right claim they don't see color. If this were true, they wouldn't cry foul whenever a black conservative gets criticism based on the issues. Why should a black conservative get special treatment simply because of the color of their skin?
4.To say "they" (aka "the left") can't argue with Herman Cain on policy is a lie. Cain's "9-9-9" plan and his stances on such issues as foreign policy, abortion, and immigration have been criticized by the left. Also, people on the GOP side have been critical of Herman Cain on various issues as well. I guess IOKIYAR.
As I've stated before, there's nothing wrong with blacks being conservative. The problem I have with black conservatives like Herman Cain is that they downplay racism until they get into trouble. Just last month, Cain stated that racism isn't holding anyone back. However, he played the race card awfully quick as soon as his ass got into hot water. What's even worse is that he even admitted there was no evidence to support his claim!
Of all the people Herman Cain has pointed the finger at for the sexual harassment allegations and the ensuing media firestorm, to the best of my knowledge he has yet to blame himself. Had he taken some personal responsibility (the conservative/GOP mantra), he wouldn't be in this mess.
Touré's Take On the Discussion of Racism
During his segment on Friday's installment of The Dylan Ratigan Show, writer/TV personality Touré talks about how some on the right are trying to squash any rational discussions we have on racism.
Although I disagree with Touré's assertion that efforts to end discussions about racism is racism itself, he hit all the right notes with the rest of his commentary. There are serious discussions that need to be had on the subject of racism in this country and they should involve people of all political viewpoints. Rush doesn't want that to happen because if it does, he's finished. Rush's calling cards are divisiveness and stoking fear/resentment. To expect him to have an honest and intelligent discussion on the subject of racism is a waste of time. Let's leave the "I'm rubber, you're glue"-style accusations of racism to people like Rush. While he and his ilk engage in their simple minded approach to race/racism, the rest of us can get down to business.
By the way, that Louis C.K. clip was hilariously on point!
What are your thoughts on the Americans for Herman Cain ad and Touré's comments on how we talk about racism?
As you may know, one of the goals of Diversity Ink is to allow people with differing viewpoints to share them here. I recently came across a postabout the Herman Cain sexual harassment controversyon the blog Reaganite Republican. I asked if he'd be interested in allowing me to use it here. Even if the debate ends in a draw, I think it's important to try and understand why someone with an opposing view thinks the way they do.
This was posted by "Reaganite Republican" on his blog on October 31, 2011:
Liberals "terrified of strong, conservative, black men"
Taking-on stealthy Obama enablers Geraldo and Juan Williams on Fox last night, she explained what's likely driving sudden 'sexual harassment'' charges against the surging candidate... (Rivera/Williams: *crickets*):
And of course Coulter's right regarding how Herman Cain is viewed by the American Left... with terror in their skeevy little hearts. Regardless of whether there's any substance to these (anonymous) accusations, the zealous investigators who put the story out there yesterday are the Obammunist shills at Politico...
It's the same with Palin and Bachmann: anybody who can turn the Left's group-victimhood/entitlement model on it's ear (as they have through living example) is surely a dire threat to the so-called 'progressives' whole scam, especially when it's a "type" of guy -like Herman Cain- that was supposed to be so lost without their handouts, quotas, and visionary guidance.
But Mr Cain sees to have done just fine without them, somehow... as the man said himself a few weeks back,
For comprehensive coverage of this still-unfolding character assassination attempt (Ann says 'not', but imho could just-as-well be coming from the mud-slingin' Romney or Perry campaigns- I don't trust 'em) check out this from Herman Cain's #1 fan Stacy McCain, who's getting to the bottom of all this muck in a hurry -here-.