Quotable Quote of the Month

What does it take for Republicans to take off the flag pin and say, 'I am just too embarrassed to be on this team'?".- Bill Maher

Showing posts with label Bill Maher. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Bill Maher. Show all posts

Sunday, March 10, 2013

Bill Maher's Response to ODS and the Politicization of Everything


I found this on Facebook today so I thought I'd share it here. When I heard that Michelle Obama had made a surprise appearance (via satellite) during the recent Oscar telecast, I knew some on the right would go on the attack. Sadly, some people have to make damn near everything political.

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Sunday Funnies: Bill Maher CrazyStupidPolitics

Last week, Bill Maher did a stand-up performance in Silicon Valley. Titled "CrazyStupidPolitics", this performance is the first installation of the "Yahoo! Screen Live Standup Series" which allows people to watch live online. In addition to hilariously skewering his usual targets, Maher also provides a preview of what we might see if President Obama wins re-election.



Monday, July 18, 2011

Cross Post By Sandy About Bill Maher's Tweeted Response to Kim Kardashian


The following was originally posted by Sandy (one of the contributors to Diversity Ink) on his blog Best Seat In the House on 7/8/11. He was kind enough to let me feature it over here as well.

Maher Comes Out With Race-Based Attack On Kim Kardashian

 
Bill Maher was at his predictable worst as he used Twitter as a platform to issue what was, by his standards, a fairly standard distasteful attack of Kim Kardashian. One sort of expects that Maher will say tasteless things, but then there are comments that are even bad for his standards (such as his standards are).
It started when Kardashian Tweeted this in response to the verdict in the case of Casey Anthony (you can look it up on your own if you don't know about it):

“WHAT!!!!???!!!! CASEY ANTHONY FOUND NOT GUILTY!!!I am speechless!!!”

Maher, smelling blood in the water, responded as he Tweeted the following:

“Kim Kardashian is upset with Casey Anthony verdict? Ur father defended O.J.! Starting the Kardashian tradition of getting black men off.”

A few thoughts about the original comment and the response went through my head:

1. He has probably been looking for an opportunity to unload this kind of comment on the Kardashian women.

2. He perhaps has some underlying issues with the Kardashians and their relationships with black people.

3. He is tired of seeing the Kardashians with guys like Reggie Bush, Lamar Odom, etc... Maybe he wants to see them getting off more guys like Steve Nash, Dirk Nowitzki and Bill Mah ... nevermind

4. His comment smacks of racism (not that he cares one bit about what anyone things of him ... good, bad or indifferent ... this is how he makes his money).

 

Do you think Bill Maher's response to Kim Kardashian's tweet was racist?